Public Hours

April through October
Sundays 1-4 PM (except Easter)
Extended hours based per event.

(410) 255-4048

Explore

School Teacher and School House

This is a picture of the 2 room school house built in 1899 and used until 1925. The hole in the lower wall was added when they switched from wood to coal as a source of heat. The coal was stored under the building and paid for by Mr. Henry A. Cook Jr. and Mr. Hancock. Eleanor Yates came to the area as the school teacher. She married George Cook. It was not unusual for teachers to come to an area and marry one of the residents.